File that Tax Appeal!

download (4)Yes you should especially if you live in Atlantic City! I am a homeowner and a Realtor and I file my tax appeal every year. It’s a one-page form A-1 that you can print out or pick up at the County tax office.

If you feel a little intimidated by the process, you can have your real estate agent assist you or do it for you and he or she may charge a small fee for their time. You can also have an attorney file the appeal for you. Keep in mind you will usually pay them by giving them a portion of the amount they save you. If you feel you can do it yourself, by all means get the form online or pick it up at the County office and the instructions are pretty simple and straight forward. However, if you don’t ask, the answer is ALWAYS NO!

I remember once at a listing appointment with an elderly couple and I asked them if they ever appealed their taxes and they looked at me like I had two heads and said No. I think the elderly sometimes feel it’s best to let whatever is in place stay in place with no fuss. However, that is not always in your best interest as a homeowner. You have a right to appeal your taxes if you feel they are too high.

What you are actually appealing is the Assessment, not your taxes. So you will have to do a little bit of work and research to present your case to the County tax board but it is worth it. If you don’t ask, the answer will always be NO. Don’t pay anymore taxes than you have to.

Listen up!

If I can be of assistance, please email me at sbhardy@kw.com.download (4)

To Your Health & Wealth,

Simone Hardy

Real Estate Chick Got Questions

Leave a comment