HAVE YOU BEEN NAMED EXECUTOR OF YOUR LOVED ONE’S ESTATE? PART 10

Death and TaxestaxYes we come to the dreaded part of getting the taxes completed for the Estate. Remember, every state is different. My uncle passed away in Washington State so a 706 form has to be filled out. It may have to be done in every state but boy oh boy is it a lot! 31 pages and the instructions are 53 pages. I would probably have to pay a fortune for someone to do this for me so I will take my time and do it myself. I know I will learn a lot. I did get his federal completed at good ol’ H&R Block. I figured if my uncle went there, I should be able to get his final return done there as well. It was easy and the preparer hadn’t done one before but we figured it out together and since my uncle had been a previous client, I received a discount. That was the easy part. I think!

You should definitely consult a certified public accountant or someone who knows what they are doing. I’ll let you know how that turns out!

Leave a Reply

